Counting the Land Rest Years
CATEGORIES: Uncategorized

Joseph F. Dumond

Joe Started Sightedmoon in 2005 to assist him in spreading his understanding of the Sabbatical and Jubilee Years according to Torah.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Published: Nov 16, 2008 - (5856)
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Counting the Land Rest Years

Many start the counting of the Omer after the 15th of Aviv. Those who believe the Messiah has already come, has died and is to come again, can clearly see that He died on a Wednesday and arose on a Saturday and was the Wave Offering offered Sunday morning. The very same Wave Offering who went to the Father and returned the very same day, and allowed the apostles to touch Him by permitting them to place their fingers in the nail holes.
It is with this understanding we are then able to begin to count the seven Sabbaths, starting with this Sunday of the Omer Offering. And the morrow after the seventh Sabbath will again be a Sunday. This is critical when it comes to understanding the method in which we are to count the Jubilee.
The Sunday is the first day of the week. Saturday is the seventh day. Seven Sabbaths are 49 days. After the 49th day is the 50th day. It is also the first day of the week in the next cycle of seven days. So the 50th day is also the first day.
It is the same with the Jubilee Cycle of counting the years. Each year we are given an annual reminder of where we are in the Jubilee Cycle of years by counting out the days of Pentecost or the days leading up to Pentecost.
Pentecost and the counting of the Omer are done yearly, but few realize it is also tied into the Jubilee Cycle of years. Every seventh year is represented in the weekly Sabbath. After seven Sabbaths is the 50th day or Pentecost. After seven Sabbatical Years is the fiftieth year or the Jubilee Year.
The Jubilee Year is always the first year in the following count. (Exodus 47, 48, 49, 50, 2, 3, and 4) The fiftieth year is not only a Jubilee Year, it is also a Sabbatical Year. It is also the first year in the next count to seven. So the fiftieth year is also year one. They are one in the same.
To confirm this, just look at any calendar. Start to count from the (‘Wave Sheaf Offering’ or ‘Wave Offering?’) on the day after the weekly Sabbath during the Feast of Unleavened Bread. That is always a Sunday. Fifty days later, it is a Sunday once again. Sunday is also the first day of the week. So, it is the same methodology for the counting of fifty years.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.